Facial recognition technology was quietly turned on this week over at Facebook.
It is the default option, which means you have to OPT OUT if you don't want to be 'taggable' in photos.
On the surface this feature is supposed to be a convenience; it makes it easy for your friends to 'tag' you in photos.
Read, however, what one tech expert expects will be the next step in this technology:
"Facial recognition technology will ultimately culminate in the ability to search for people using just a picture. And that will be the end of privacy as we know it--imagine, a world in which someone can simply take a photo of you on the street, in a crowd, or with a telephoto lens, and discover everything about you on the internet."
What does this mean for us diaperboys (and girls) you ask?
Right now, nothing.
But it could, one day, give people the ability to upload a photo of an adorable diaperboy who's been courageous enough to show his face, and learn more about his actual identity.
That's probably a long way off.
But, please... if you are concerned about your privacy... go OPT OUT.
Instructions are posted:
- When logged in, go to "Account" and click on "Privacy Settings."
- Click on "Customize settings."
- Scroll down to "Things others share."
- Next to the third item, "Suggest photos of me to friends," click on "Edit Settings."
- Change it from "Enabled" to "Disabled" and Facial Recognition will be turned off.
Here's how to turn off Facebook's new Facial Recognition feature:
I'll keep you posted.
From PCWorld:
1 comment:
Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this. I'm not on Facebook, but I know folks who are, and I fear for their privacy. We have to be so careful now. The internet is great, except when we want to keep some things private, or just among ourselves!
abeddieca
Post a Comment